Build muscle with ‘High-Low routine’

You need to train hard and smart if you want to be a great bodybuilder. 'Mr. India' Sangram Chougule is one such champion.

Researchers have put together several training techniques to help a bodybuilding trainee break all barriers to gaining muscle. Here is a training routine drawn up using a technique, which, according to some trainers, is supposed to work very well.
The first exercise for a particular muscle group should be a basic exercise, performed using a very heavy weight for low reps (around 5). This could be followed by another set of the same exercise performed with a light weight for 15 reps.
An example of chest routine would look like this:
Bench presses using a heavy weight for five reps followed by a set of 15 reps with light weight.
Some trainers are also of the opinion that a heavy set of basic exercise can be followed by an isolation exercise with a light weight for 15 reps.

Incorporate this technique into your schedule, experimenting with total number of sets and workout frequency based on your recovery ability, for optimum results.
This kind of programme is also known as ‘light-heavy routine.’

_ C. Lakshmi Kumar

28 Responses to “Build muscle with ‘High-Low routine’”

  1. NAGARAJAN Says:

    Awesome! routine

  2. its awesome, great.

    Dear laxmi sir,

    sorry for questing here i do know how to communicate with you,kindly help me sir, I am 25 y old .75kg weight .daily 1hour 30 minutes i am doing my workout for last 8 months ,but i am not able to improve weights and my muscles get tried and pained very soon .i am tamilan and now in maharashtra i am not able to decrease my abs pls provide me the diet plan for tamilan standard. pls help me i am waiting for ur reply.

  3. takeupsculpting Says:

    Dear Vignesh,
    Here are a few suggestions.
    1. You are feeling tired most probably because you are overtraining or not eating enough protein and calories or not getting enough sleep – maybe all of these!
    2. Training for one and a half hours every day is a bit too much for you.
    3. And, my dear brother, there is nothing specifically meant for ‘Tamilian standard.’
    With all that said, here is how you can train to gain lean muscle and tighten your abs:
    1. Train each body part once in every 5 days, except abs.
    2. Train abs on every alternate day – choose 2 exercises and do 3 sets each of 15 reps
    3. Choose 2 basic exercises for other muscle groups.
    4. Warm up with 2 sets and follow them with 3 working sets of 8 reps to failure using a heavy weight.
    5. Finish the routine with 1 set of high-rep work using an isolation movement.
    6. Add weight to the basic movements when performing 8 reps becomes easy.
    7. After 8 to 12 weeks, perform light work, 3 non-consecutive days a week for 2 weeks and then start again.
    8. This time choose 2 different basic exercises for each muscle group and train like before.
    9. Do cardio 2 or 3 times a week, each session lasting only 30 minutes. If possible, do your cardio immediately after your workout.
    As regards diet, try to eat at least 15 egg whites every day, 5 whites in 3 meals each. Besides this, have 2 or 3 glasses of skimmed milk and soya beans every day. If you can afford to buy supplements, have a serving of whey isolate after workout.
    As for the rest of your meals, have oats, grains, vegetable salad and whole wheat bread. The last meal of the day should give only protein and no carbohydrate.
    Increase or decrease food serving size to manipulate calories. This should be based on how you are feeling and how the body is responding.
    Good luck

  4. sir,
    you mentioned about soya beans.can you give some recipes for soya beans. i don’t know how to cook it

  5. vignesh s Says:

    Thanks . I am 55Kg and 5.9 Height Can i use creatine, please reply me

  6. takeupsculpting Says:

    Dear Vignesh,
    You seem to be weighing very less for your height. If you want to gain strength and build muscle, you can use creatine. But, it will not work if your diet doesnt have enough protein and calories.
    Train and eat right.

  7. navinya Says:

    sir is whey protein good for bodybuiding

  8. takeupsculpting Says:

    Whey protein made by any reputable company is supposed to be very good.

  9. you,kindly help me sir, I am 19 y old .78kg weight .daily 4hour i am doing my workout for last 2 years ,but i am not able to improve weights and my muscles get tried and pained very soon .i am live in maharashtra osmanabad i workout abs daily 45 minutes with very hard training but my abs is not in muscular shape pls provide me the diet plan and workout routine i am a profesional body builder and i won 2 body building competitioon of district level. pls help me i am waiting for ur reply.

  10. takeupsculpting Says:

    Dear Pankaj,
    You have mentioned that you workout for 4 hrs every day. This is too much! In the first place, if you really work hard you’ll not be able to train for more than an hour. This may be one of the main reasons that you are not seeing results. Too much of stress may lead to increase in stress hormone, cortisol, and reduce performance. Take one week’s complete rest and then start this programme.
    Day 1 – Chest, shoulder, triceps + cardio – 35 mins
    Day 2 -Back, biceps, forearms, calf + cardio – 35 mins
    Day 3 – Rest
    Day 4 – Legs & abs
    Day 5 – Rest
    Day 6 – Repeat Cycle
    Do 2 basic exercises and 1 isolation exercise for each muscle group. Do 4 sets in pyramid technique on both basic exercises and do 3 sets of 10 to 12 reps on isolation exercise using medium heavy weights. For abs do 3 exercises, 4 sets of 15 repetitions each. For calf, do 2 exercises 4 sets of 15 reps each. For forearms, do 2 exercises, 3 sets of 15 reps each.
    Do cardio after your workout.
    You have not given enough details about your training and diet. So this is a sample programme which can help to improve your muscles and lose fat. Work hard on your leg training. For diet plan, check under “nutrition” category in our blog.
    Good luck
    Lakshmi Kumar

  11. Sir, i am 22 years old and having 5.7 height and 60kg weight . I want to start professional bodybuilding. Pls send me the diet plan and workout schedule. And please tell me can i win district championship in one year? How?

  12. takeupsculpting Says:

    Dear Kalai,
    U haven’t told me ur complete routine. Anyhow, here are a few suggestions:
    1.Have a rest day before and after your thigh workout.
    2.Warm up well and use a weight heavy enough which would force you to work extremely hard to complete atleast 12 full range reps.
    3.Avoid very low rep work for some time
    4.Do not go crazy and do too many exercises or too many sets. Choose squats, leg presses, hack squats and leg extension. Perform 4 sets each on first two exercises and 3 sets each on the other two. So the total sets will be 14.
    5.Do not do cardio on leg day.
    6. Consume enough protein, carbs and calories. Have whey isolate and some BCAA immediately after workout and 40 mins later have solid food to give you protein and complex carbs.
    7.When you are able to easily perform 12 reps with the weight you are right now fighting to use, increase the weight.
    Good luck !

  13. respected sir,
    i am a 18 yrs of age, 5.9 height,70kg weight…i had played district and state level bodybuilding competetions and i had secured 1st place at 70kg group recently at district level..i loved bodybuillding and have a great respect for bodybuilding.
    but sir i want more muscles so dat i can play
    national levels so sir pls give me some tips to gain more muscles,size,shape and give good dieting plan…here are my workout list and dieting list which i used..monday- chest and abs
    tue-back and biceps
    thurs-tricep and abs
    fri-squat and shoulder
    diet-10 egg whites a day,soyabean,biscuits,cakes,banana,protien shakes twice a day.,these are my diets and workouts .so u please suggest me ..

    fri
    wem
    jk jmgmg gain more muscles,size,shape.and give some good diet plan.,.
    jj

  14. Respected sir ,
    i am a 18 yrs of age, 5.9 height,80kg weight.. i want to reduce weight but i don’t have any knowledge about diet and supplement and when i was 16 yrs itself iam going to the gym but after a 2 mouth i stoped gym because no change in my body ,weight only increseing, like this i joint many gym and then after 2 or 3 mouths again same problem and i stop going gym .so i want to reduce atleast 10kg within 5 to 6 months and pls provide me a meal plan and supplement what i want to take to reduce weight .pls help me iam waiting for ur reply master.

  15. What you typed made a ton of sense. But, what
    about this? what if you added a little content?

    I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your blog, however suppose you added something to possibly grab folk’s attention?
    I mean Build muscle with ‘High-Low routine’ TrainingMasters is a little plain. You should glance at Yahoo’s home page and see how they write article titles to grab people interested. You might add a related video or a pic or two to get people interested about everything’ve got to say.
    In my opinion, it might bring your posts a little bit more
    interesting.

  16. takeupsculpting Says:

    What you have said regarding headings is perfect, I understand…I’ll try. And thanks for taking interest.

  17. mathan kumar Says:

    hi sir,
    Am from coimbatore i like to improve my muscle mass, now am consuming creatine. ny height is around 5.7 weight is 66. i had some belly fat.now i decided to take whey with fat fighter,shall i consume is it advisable.
    my work out routines are
    mon-chest,triceps
    tue-lats ,biceps
    wed-shouders-neck
    thur-legs,calf
    fri-biceps,triceps
    sat cardio
    sun -rest
    can u guide some routines sir,i used to have 4 stes in increasing order.waiting for ur replyyy
    thank u sir

  18. Sir, i am 27 years old and having 5.10 height and 75kg weight . I want to start professional bodybuilding. Pls send me the diet plan and workout schedule. And please tell me can i win district championship in one year? How?

  19. Respected sir,

    Could you please guied me about legs workout, how i will improve my legs cutting depness.
    Please sir you are the GURU and my ideol in bodybuilding.
    Sir please don’t ignore me, i am your past and i want some one hand on my head……………….Please sir

  20. sir my goal is to become a bodybuilder plz give me trick how to gain muscle and plz give me diet plan plz sir .

  21. With havin so much written content do you ever run into
    any issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any ways to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d really appreciate it.

  22. Sir iam 20years hight 6feet weight 60 I do 2 hour workout but my muscle not growing

  23. What i do not realize is in truth how you’re not actually much
    more neatly-favored than you may be now. You’re very intelligent.
    You realize therefore considerably in relation to this topic, produced me for
    my part consider it from so many various angles.
    Its like men and women are not involved until it is one thing to do with Lady gaga!

    Your individual stuffs great. Always maintain it up!

  24. Sir my wheait 80kg hight 5.8 please send me workout and dite and supplyments chart I want big muscles please

  25. Sir my age 28 years wheait 80kg hight 5.8 please send me workout and dite and supplyments chart I want big muscles please

  26. rk pathan Says:

    Mera b dream ek successful builder ka ho sake to mujhe good advise dena ok bhaijaan Allah hafiz m waha tk k wait karunga jha tum ho

  27. Dear sir,

    I am 26 years old, weight – 70kg, height – 5.10 & go to gym continue last 2-3 year but my body is not good.
    pls share perfect workout & diet plan.

  28. Anindya Das Says:

    Respected Sir,
    I am Anindya Das, Height 5″8 -weight 78kg
    -Fat % 20 , please guide me to loose my fat and
    increase my body weight with lean mass.

Leave a Reply

